my second liebster-award:classic movie thoughts

my second liebster-award:classic movie thoughts

19

 

https://www.facebook.com/Wolffianclassicmoviesdigest

This is my second liebster-award for wolffian classic movies digest. I could not be not be more happy to answer these questions and give you insight into me. I am very happy to have my work honored form my writing on this blog. I loved movies since I was a boy so this is a deep honor for me being honored for writing about movies which I love greatly. So let’s get started with the answers to the questions. Thanks for this wonderful honor. I will also give some extra insight into me for it too. I hope to make this honor a great one.

annsblyth 11 questions asked by her to me.

1:If you had to choose one classic film to be remade today, which would it be and why?I would love to see a modern day remake of Lifeboat done by Steven Spielberg, I feel it would be a great blockbuster if done right.  Its truly a magical classic i feel gets very overlooked by movie lovers today. Which modern actors would you cast in the remake, and why?I would love to see leonardo dicaprio as lead with Kate Winslet and Samuel L. Jackson and Mark Ruffalo and Saoirse Ronan and cate blanchett and Jeremy Renner and Chris Evans and Paul Bettany. I think that would be a perfect cast of many diffrent actors and it would bring rise to an interesting cast able to pull off such a remake of a Hitchcock movie.

2:Choose three of your favorite classic film directors, and list your favorite film of each?

Hitchcock is among my favorite directors all time if not in the top ten list of directors. Its so hard to list just one favorite among them all yet if i would choose one of my favorites it would be  Strangers on a Train (1951) as i feel its such a strong movie that really has one one of the finest performances by any actor in a Hitchcock movie by Robert walker. Its a marvelous classic you should watch today.

Billy Wilder is my second choice as not many match billy wilder as he truly is among one of the finest directors all time.

I would choose the vastly overlooked lost weekend as its one of the finest acted movies all time yet its overlooked for many of Billy’s more loved classics so watch it today. 

My third choice is William Wyler as he directed some of the finest movies ever to hit the screen. He is such a wonderful director able to perfectly cast each movie. I would say Mrs. Miniver as its truly a wonderful and inspiring classic movie.

4:Who is your favorite onscreen classic film couple, and why? Lauren Bacall and Humphrey Bogart as both were truly in love in the movie screens which led to them being married off-screen. 5: Who is your favorite off-screen classic film couple, and why? Lauren Bacall and Humphrey Bogart as they truly were in love for years as they both were the dream couple that showed love really does exist. They were a truly magical couple of the golden age.    

6:Name two classic film stars that you wish had made a film together? This is tough one as i know my answer is I really wish Carole Lombard and Cary grant starred together more often as it is who I wish made one together yet they did but not often enough it was quite sad as i feel they would have been great in comedies together onscreen.

7:What was the first classic film you saw, and what did you like about it?It was wizard of oz,well i simply loved its magical charm form frist time i saw it. Its simply a magical classic gem.8:Name one classic film that always makes you smile, and one that always makes you cry?wizard of oz always brings a smile to my face as its one of my most beloved movies all time that i love to watch. A movie that makes me cry is Mrs. Miniver as its very much a good movie that will make me cry sometimes as its heartbreaking in so many parts of the movie. Two classics that are highly adored by me.

9:List all of the classic film actors that you despise, or think are overrated (if any)?Elizabeth Taylor. I find her acting to be very bland as she does not even seem to connect to me in any movie.

10:If you could bring one classic film actor back to life (they would be in their prime), who would it be and why?Cary grant,few men will ever match the charm of Cary grant in his prime as he truly was one magical actor again to light up the screen.

wpmov201

11:You just moved to Hollywood and you’re hosting a dinner party. Name nine classic film stars (producers and directors count too!) that you would invite, living or dead?Cary grant-Judy garland- Carole Lombard-Lauren Bacall-Humphrey Bogart- Billy Wilder-Alfred Hitchcock- John Barrymore-Buster Keaton as i would adore to meet all these legends and so many more of the golden age of Hollywood as i adore so many legends of that age.  So these are my answers to my questions for it.

11 things about me(repost form My frist one)

  1. I have loved movies snice i was a boy. I seen wizard of oz and disney flims snice i was a little boy. I have the reputation to be the one person in my family and friends that loves classic movies so highly as i just adore them highly. I love them to death as i am lover of movies snice a young age.
  2. I was a gamer since I was a boy as I played super Mario bros at age four. Many that know me knows i was wild into video games more highly until i slowed down as i grew older. It’s still a passion of mine.
  3. I am comic book nerd snice a young boy as i started out reading comics at a young age.
  4. I love doctor who so highly snice the reboot started in 2005. I have been a whovian and proud of the fact. My favorite doctor is the seventh doctor Sylvester McCoy.
  5. I love to read often,i started my passion of reading at a young age of 7 years,i love books and love to read often a book.
  6. I am a disney dork snice a young age as a boy. I had my grandparents buy me movies often of disney as each tape came out as a boy. I really love and adore disney movies.
  7. I consider myself a Vivien Leigh fan at heart. Ever snice i saw gone with the wind,i have always been captured by the lovely beauty of vivien leigh and her skills as an actress.
  8. I am bette davis fan so highly as she’s my favorite actress all time,i just love bette davis to death. That even my blog’s review system is named in honor of her. She is to me the finest actress to ever grace the screen. juarez-bette-davis-1939
  9. I am a huge lover of batman. I have been a batman fanboy snice i was young boy seeing him on the movies. I just love batman to death.
  10. I love history so much,it’s my favorite subject as i am just a lover of history to death.
  11. I love to write so my passion is expressed often on my blog.

The 11 blogs I nominate for the Liebster Award Congrats!

  1. the wonderful world of cinema
  2. B NOIR DETOUR
  3. Once upon a screen
  4. Margaret Perry
  5. Pop Culture Reverie
  6. Now, Voyaging
  7. Christina Wehner
  8. silverscreenings
  9. Caftan Woman
  10. cinematicfrontier
  11. Old Hollywood Films

My 11 questions to the 11 nominated blog

 

 

  1. Name two classic film stars that you wish had made a film together.
  2. Name one classic film that always makes you smile, and one that always makes you cry.
  3. Your favorite noir classic all time and why?
  4. Who is your favorite offscreen classic film couple, and why?
  5. Who is your favorite onscreen classic film couple, and why?
  6. You just moved to Hollywood and you’re hosting a dinner party. Name nine classic film stars (producers and directors count too!) that you would invite, living or dead.
  7. Choose three of your favorite classic film directors, and list your favorite film of each.
  8. Name the movie that started your love for classic movies?
  9. Name three overlooked classics you wish more would watch today
  10. If you could bring one classic film actor back to life (they would be in their prime), who would it be and why?

 

List all of the classic film actors that you despise, or think are overrated (if a

One classic movie review for this honor,thanks to  annsblyth and thanks everyone. 

The Adventures of Robin Hood  review

The adventures of robin hood is one of greatest most colorful costume dramas, swashbucklers, and romantically-tinged adventure films in film history. Its slashbucking tale can be said to one of the most fun movies you can watch ever.

Errol Flynn shines as robin hood as he plays the definitive Robin Hood. It expertly tells the story of the heroic Robin and his Sherwood Forest followers, who saved England from royal treachery by scheming nobles during the absence of the crusading and captured-ransomed King Richard the Lion-Hearted. And it tells the fairy-tale romance with nostalgic chivalry, colorful pageantry, simple righteousness triumphant over villainous and evil might, and spectacular action. The film would not be a masterpiece without the casting–not just of Flynn and de Havilland, who are indispensable, but also of such dependable Warners’ supporting stars as Claude Rains, as the effete Prince John; Basil Rathbone, as the snaky Sir Guy of Gisbourne, and Patric Knowles, Eugene Pallette and Alan Hale as (respectively) Will Scarlet, Friar Tuck and Little John, the fearless Merry Men as everyone of this movie’s remarkable cast shines in their roles as they give such remarkable permances.

Unlike modern films where superstars dominate every scene, the Hollywood films of the golden era have depth in writing and casting, so the story can resonate with more than one tone. The movie was initially directed by William Keighley (“Each Dawn I Die”), but Hal Wallis at Warner Bros thought the Sherwood scenes, filmed on location in Chico, California, lacked vitality, and they replaced him with Michael Curtiz (“Angels with Dirty Faces”; “Casablanca”), who added just that. He filmed additional scenes of the merry men preparing for and then attacking the caravan, and all of that climbing, running and jumping, sometimes directly at the camera, feel like primers for the masculine energy of “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. It is one of those charming classic gems that anyone can enjoy.

The Ruth Rating:five bette's

Thanks to   annsblyth  for the nomination! Such an honour! Its a great honor,thanks so much. This is one great honor. So happy about this wonderful honor.

 

 

Leave a Reply

