The Princess Comes Across

https://www.facebook.com/Wolffianclassicmoviesdigest

TODAY i talk about The Princess Comes Across with a review that honors  Carole Lombard for the Carole Lombard: The Profane Angel Blogathon hosted by my good friend Crystal Kalyana Pacey  form IN THE GOOD OLD DAYS OF CLASSIC HOLLYWOOD and also hosted by Laura from Phyllis Loves Classic Movies Thanks to both wonderful hosts for hosting this event to honor this great actress and legend.  So thanks to both wonderful hosts as you can check out others form the event at both sites and thanks so much both hosts. Lets begin the honors of this wonderful legend whom is the queen of screwball comedies in my eyes.

The Princess Comes Across review(tribute to the great comedy legend)poster-princess-comes-across-the_03

THE PRINCESS COMES ACROSS (Paramount, 1936), directed by William K. Howard, based on story by Philip MacDonald and adapted from novel by Louis Lucien Rogger, reunites Carole Lombard with Fred MacMurray in their second team up on the screen after HANDS ACROSS THE TABLE (1935) which was their first paring on the screen of both legends. In the1930’s they loved a good mystery story as they also did love the screwball comedy so when paramount combined both and starred a pair together that worked together in the past it was a fun match in heaven.

The Princess Comes Across may be one of the early movies that makes fun of the movies which really is a trait often used by great filmmakers such a Mel brooks among others today. It made fun of thrillers which happens to be one of the biggest draws of that era. It made fun of publicity that the public thrives on too often in the media.

Carole Lombard plays a plays an American who can’t get a job in Hollywood, so she pretends to be a Swedish princess named Princess Olga. Fred MacMurray plays the role of  a popular bandleader who is also on board and takes a shine to the Princess as the princess is indifferent to him until the mystery begins to unfold,

Carole Lombard plays a good that comes off as funny making an impression upon you instantly as she plays up the garbo element of her comedy to a tee. It’s one fun role for her. Fred MacMurray plays a very good role one of his earlier roles on the screen as we see him really making an impression upon us. Douglass Dumbrille plays a very fun role. The rest of the cast really play such very solid roles. It’s very much a funny and fast paced comedy that really does make such fun of many tropes of the time. Its impression of Greta Garbo by carol Carole Lombard really does shine greatly. We have a somewhat fun gem that does try hard to make an impression upon you. It isn’t the best classic in world but a very fun classic to watch time to time.

The ruth rating:three and half bettes

Author: wolffianclassicmoviesdigest

Hello my name is joey halphen.I have been a lover of movies snice childhood.Its wizard of oz that inspired me to write. I write time to time many things. I am critic and reviewer of all things movies. I review often movie reviews.I film reviewer for my blog currently. i love classic movies which i review on my blog. Hello my name is joey halphen.I am a lover of comics for ages. I have been a lover of comics snice childhood.Its batman that inspired my love of them. I write time to time many things. I am critic and reviewer of all things movies. I review often movie reviews.I film reviewer for my blog currently. i love classic movies which i review on my blog. I am normally home or at movies or enjoying self with movie at home which depends on what i decide to do at the moment. I am very fondly at home often.I write often form time to time. You want contact me look in my about me for my info.

4 thoughts on “The Princess Comes Across”

Leave a Reply

